Laying Streetcar Tracks on Dundas St West at Dupont St
1912 — Toronto Archives — Fonds 1231, Item 434
Appropriately called the Junction,
the neighbourhood derives its name from
its rich history of connecting both people
and things from all over the country and world.
The name of the Junction neighbourhood originated during the European Settlement. The area marked the intersection
of prominent trails and trade routes.
The name then took on further meaning in the 1880’s
as Canada’s railway tracks were laid and the Junction became the point of intersection for four major railways.
As a result of this newfound access, the manufacturing industry started to boom. Companies such as Canadian Cycle & Motor Co., Canada Packers, and the Heintzman
& Co. piano company all started in the area.
As was the case with many railway towns at the time, pubs, taverns, and saloons also became a fixture of the neighbourhood. By 1904, the behavior of the area’s workers had become so disruptive that the sale of alcohol was ultimately banned, marking the beginning of an almost century-long prohibition law. It took until the early 2000’s for the first drop of alcohol to be poured in the Junction.
It didn’t take long for new bars, restaurants, and shops
to open up and for the rebirth of the neighbourhood